Better And Better

If you don't draw yours, I won't draw mine. A police officer, working in the small town that he lives in, focusing on family and shooting and coffee, and occasionally putting some people in jail.

Tuesday, October 06, 2009

No such thing as "Too Late."


Load three magazines each with two rounds.

Load one into the pistol, chamber the top round, and holster and snap it down. Put the other two magazines on your belt.

At the signal, from 10 yards, draw, fire 2 shots, reload, fire two shots, reload, fire two shots, for a total of 6 rounds in 12 seconds.

After doing this on a sheet of typing paper, I was told to do it on the head of the silhouette target. I thought that I was ahead on time, and took a little long on squeezing off that LAST round before the targets flipped back to edge-on.

Can you tell which was my last round fired?

Labels: , ,


At Tuesday, October 06, 2009 4:45:00 PM, Blogger Turk Turon said...

Well done!

You killed The Thin Man.

At Tuesday, October 06, 2009 4:51:00 PM, Blogger Marko said...

That's some fine shootin' right there, Tex.

Do a playing card next!

At Tuesday, October 06, 2009 9:14:00 PM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Top left?

St Paul

At Wednesday, October 07, 2009 12:03:00 AM, Blogger Old NFO said...

Marko beat me to it... :-) And that IS nice shooting!

At Wednesday, October 07, 2009 6:40:00 AM, Blogger keith said...

Does it count as a hit?

At Wednesday, October 07, 2009 10:20:00 AM, Anonymous homebru said...

So was that in thru the ear and out thru the nose or vice-versa?

At Wednesday, October 07, 2009 12:51:00 PM, Blogger Matt G said...

Keith: Yes. It counts.

Homebru: POI is at the nose. When the targets turn, they make a right-face, or turn (looking from above) 90 degrees clockwise.

At Wednesday, October 07, 2009 2:49:00 PM, Blogger Assrot said...

You should try for a guest spot on "Impossible Shots". I think you might give Bob Munden a run for his money.

Good shooting Matt.


At Friday, October 09, 2009 7:12:00 AM, Blogger JPG said...

I think your title, "No such thing as 'Too Late'" is a good one.

Yes, the target had started turning when you fired that last shot. Back when I was active in national IPSC competition, on ranges with turning targets, the rule was, "any bullet hole as much as two bullet diameters in length is counted as a miss." Good enough, I suppose. When the outcome of A Game is at stake, there needs to be some method of assessing a numerical score.

In the midst of a violent social confrontation, though, it matters little if the adversary is in the process of making a turn. Job One is to MAKE HIM STOP WHAT HE'S DOING. In such a training situation, I think it is proper to count that as a good hit.


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

Add to Technorati Favorites